A prayer for conversion of heart

Ez 33:11 – I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked man, says the Lord, but rather in his conversion that he may live.

I was recently watching a movie in which a Christian family who has suffered a major loss due to the death of their only son wishes to see the the death of the murderer. And I was telling my husband that how in so many movies recently we have seen a Christian family being portrayed as the revengeful people.

Which is not what Christian’s are called to do. So either there is a cultural, spiritual shift or these movies are beginning to make, create that shift.

Today while praying, when I read the daily Bible reading, these words from Ez 33:11 stood out to me. God clearly says that he delights in a converted soul that he may live forever with Him. He does not want people to die in sin. He wants us to repent and gives us a chance everyday to repent so we may live forever with Him.

It made me wonder of the question so many of us have, why do the people who make the life of others miserable through their deeds live a long life, made me think of how many times we pray for the destruction and not of the conversion of the ones who persecute us.

God in his mercy is asking us to pray for all the people who persecute us and that is not to make us suffer more but it is a call to love. And because God is love, he wants all of us, yes every sinner to be with Him and He asks us to pray for a conversion of heart. And this conversion of heart is not just when we pray for others but every time we confess our sins too. Just like the father in the story of the prodigal son, He delights when his people return back, He wants us to return back, He wants not just me but every person on this earth. He is giving all of us a chance, each day, every moment to mend our ways.

So dear God as I come before you, I acknowledge my sins and ask your forgiveness. I also seek your mercy and forgiveness for all those people who persecute me in different ways. Jesus, just like you love them and prayed for the forgiveness of their sins, give me the grace to pray for those who make life miserable and painful. May their hearts be converted so that one day just as I hope to live with you forever, may they too hope and find joy in eternal peace that comes from you. Amen.

Leave a comment